The Ducati Story
6th Edition
Racing and production motorcycles from 1945

13th June 2018
Stacks Image 4225
If you would like photographs, press copy, other media, or information relating to a specific publication or event, please contact us with your requirements at:

The Ducati Story

6th Edition
Racing and production motorcycles from 1945

The Ducati Story is brought right up to date in this new edition of Ian Falloon’s authoritative book, covering the complete history of the marque. Initially under government control, Ducati went through several decades of ups and downs, characterised by dubious managerial decisions. Held together by the great engineer Fabio Taglioni, the father of desmodromic valve gear, Ducati produced some of the finest motorcycles of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s: the Marianna, desmo 125 single, Mach 1, 750 and Pantah. Taglioni also instigated Ducati’s return to racing, and victory in the 1972 Imola 200 was the turning point. Mike Hailwood rode the 900 Ducati to victory in the 1978 Isle of Man Formula One race and Tony Rutter took four World TT2 Championships.

Cagiva purchased Ducati in 1985, bringing a new engineer, Massimo Bordi, and new designs – most famously the Desmoquattro. In various guises this model dominated the World Superbike Championship during the 1990s, particularly in the hands of Carl Fogarty. Landmark models included the 916 and Monster, and, with the sale of Ducati to the Texas Pacific Group in 1996, the company continued to grow. The racing programme expanded to MotoGP and new model families were introduced. With control taken by the Italian company InvestIndustrial in 2006, Ducati embarked on the next era of development, Casey Stoner winning the MotoGP World Championship in 2007. Now under the Audi umbrella Ducati continues to thrive.

This new edition includes a brand new chapter featuring all the new Ducati models from 2012 up to 2018.

The Ducati Story - 6th Edition by Ian Falloon

ISBN: 9781787110854
UPC: 6-36847-01085-0


£45, $65.00 US, $85.00 CAN

• The fascinating story of Ducati – one of the most iconic names in motorcycle history
• From bombed out ruins at the end of the Second World War Ducati has grown to be one of the world’s premier motorcycle manufacturers
• Foreword by Fabio Taglioni - engineer and creator of Ducati’s desmodromic valve system
• The unique system of positive valve actuation continues to set Ducati apart
• Features Ducati’s modern exotic Superbikes
• Detailing Ducati’s racing history, competing at the highest level of motorcycle competition
• Even the unusual models, such as two strokes, are covered here
• Ducati also competes at the highest level of motorcycle competition
• And it all began with the humble 48cc Cucciolo moped!

One of the world’s foremost motorcycle historians, Ian Falloon is the author of more than forty books on motorcycles. His other titles include The Ducati 750 Bible, Ducati 900 Bible, The Moto Guzzi Story, Honda Story, Kawasaki Story, BMW Story, The Book of MV Agusta Fours, Moto Guzzi Sport Bible and Laverda Twin and Triple Bible.

He has a small collection of classic sporting motorcycles, including a 1974 Ducati 750 Super Sport that he has owned since 1976. A freelance contributor to a number of motorcycle magazines around the world, Ian Falloon was born in New Zealand but currently lives in Australia with his wife Miriam, and sons Ben and Tim.

Place of birth: Feilding, New Zealand • Hometown: Kew • Nearest city: Melbourne

V5085 • Hardback • 27x21cm • £45 • 368 pages • 349 pictures • ISBN: 978-1-787110-85-4 • UPC: 6-36847-01085-0
View sample pages and sample text on our website - or 01305 260068/e or

Front cover images in various resolutions are available from Veloce

Veloce books are stocked by (or can be ordered from) bookshops by quoting the correct ISBN number.

We also take orders direct: telephone 01305 260068 (+44 1305 260068 from outside UK), fax 01305 250479 (+44 1305 250479 from outside UK) or e-mail Books can also be ordered on our website –

Twitter (Veloce):
Twitter (Hubble & Hattie):
Facebook (Veloce):
Facebook (Hubble & Hattie):

Note: All details subject to change.