Veloce Publishing supports 2017 Gurston Down Formula Ford Fest

11th July 2017
If you would like photographs, press copy, other media, or information relating to a specific publication or event, please contact us with your requirements at:
Stacks Image 4112

Veloce Publishing again supports the 2017 Gurston Down Formula Ford Fest

Gurston Down Speed Hillclimb is delighted to announce that Dorchester-based Veloce Publishing will once again support the ‘Hillclimb Formula Ford Fest’ at the award-winning Wiltshire venue. The second ‘Hillclimb FF Fest’ will run within the Midland & Gurston Down Championship meeting over the weekend of July 22nd/23rd, and caters for drivers entering 1600cc ‘Kent’ engined pre-1994 Formula Fords. Additional support comes from Ford Performance, Merlin Motorsport and the Hillclimb & Sprint Association.
The Pre-94 FF class has been gaining support in the speed event world in recent seasons, and last year’s inaugural FF Fest at Gurston Down saw an entry of 15 drivers in 9 cars battle it out against the clock on the fast and sinuous 1km long course. As proof of the growing popularity of the category, the 2017 entry sees no less than 24 drivers in 19 cars going for glory! Among them is the 2016 winner, Veloce author and freelance motorsport writer Simon McBeath from Sturminster Newton, Dorset, who set a new class record of 36.30 seconds on his way to victory last season in his Swift SC92F. He will be up against, among others, former British Touring Car Championship race winner and current ITV4 BTCC commentator Paul O’Neill from Merseyside, guesting in the Swift FB91 of friend Mark Alley from Wells (who currently leads the class in the Gurston Championship); Andrew Henson from Rochdale, the previous record holder in his Van Diemen RF91; and circuit racer and former hillclimber Shaun Macklin from Romsey, who took his Swift SC92F up Gurston in under 36 seconds in 2006, before the class was officially formed.

So the competition will be ferocious this year, and with the cars so closely matched on performance, using as they do the same Ford 1600cc engines prepared to tight regulations and running on the same tyres, any of the 24 drivers could win. The full class is listed on page 2.

2017 marks two very special 50th anniversaries, with both Formula Ford and Gurston Down Speed Hillclimb getting underway in 1967. So it is fitting that such a strong entry has been received at Gurston this season to help celebrate both these Golden Jubilees!

Further information on the venue can be found at

  1. Formula Ford came into being in 1967. It has gone through various metamorphoses during that time, but the 1600cc ‘Kent’ engine variant has been the most enduring version having been adopted shortly after the formula was originally instigated and it persists today in local, regional and National championships around the world.
  2. The ‘Kent’ engine originally powered the Ford Anglia from 1959 in ‘pre-crossflow- form, but the later ‘crossflow engine’ (that is, the carburettor and inlet manifold are on one side of the cylinder head and the exhaust manifold is on the other side) as used in the Ford Cortina GT was, and is, the basis for ‘Kent’ engine Formula Ford racecars.
  3. The cars utilise Hewland racing gearboxes and Avon ‘ACB10’ or ‘ACB 9’ treaded racing tyre which were designed for Formula Ford championships around the world.
  4. Formula Ford has been one of the first steps on the career ladder for many famous racing drivers and Formula 1 World Champions including Brazil’s Ayrton Senna and Britain’s Jenson Button progressed through Formula Ford in their early careers.

Contact: Simon McBeath at

Pre-1994 Formula Ford class, Gurston Down, July 22nd/23rd
103 – Shaun Macklin – Romsey, – Swift SC92 – 1600
104 – Geoff Lancaster – Saracens Head – Swift SC92F – 1600
105 – Geoff Ward – Preston – Swift SC93F – 1600
106 – David Bain – Bristol – Mallock Mk 11 – 1558
107 – Ed McDonough – Wootton – Dulon MP15 – 1600
108 – Jeremy Bouckley – Sutton Coldfield – Swift FB90 – 1600
109 – Chris Warden – Clevedon – Swift FB91 – 1600
110 – Doug Auld – Corsham – Swift SC93 – 1600
111 – Chris Guy – Guernsey – Reynard – 1600
112 – Iain Houston – Linton – Van Diemen RF89 – 1600
113 – Paul Morcom – Cirencester – Merlyn Mk 11A – 1600
114 – Charlie Reilly – Danbury – Van Diemen RF92 – 1600
115 – Richard Summers – Tenbury Wells – Van Diemen RF92 – 1600
116 – Russell Haynes – Towcester – Zeus ZR163 – 1600
117 – Mark Alley – Wells – Swift FB91 – 1600
118 – Nev Rollason – Craven Arms – Jamun M90 – 1600
119 – Andrew Henson – Rochdale – Van Diemen RF91 – 1600
120 – Les Buck – Oxford – Pringett Mistrale – 1600
121 – Simon McBeath – Sturminster Newton – Swift SC92F – 1600
911 – Peter Hawkey – Painswick – Reynard 89FF – 1600
915 – Samantha Lester – Ludlow – Van Diemen RF92 – 1600
916 – George Haynes – Abingdon – Zeus ZR163 – 1600
917 – Paul O'Neill – Merseyside – Swift FB91 – 1600
919 – Nicola Dearden – Rochdale – Van Diemen RF91 – 1600

View sample pages and sample text on our website - or 01305 260068/e or

Images in various resolutions are available from Veloce

Veloce books are stocked by (or can be ordered from) bookshops by quoting the correct ISBN number.

We also take orders direct: telephone 01305 260068 (+44 1305 260068 from outside UK), fax 01305 250479 (+44 1305 250479 from outside UK) or e-mail Books can also be ordered on our website –

Twitter (Veloce):
Twitter (Hubble & Hattie):
Facebook (Veloce):
Facebook (Hubble & Hattie):

Note: All details subject to change.